Join now - be part of our community!

Windows XP Pro SP2

profile.country.en_GB.title
gyron1
Explorer

Windows XP Pro SP2

Good Morning Gents,

Don't seem to be having much success with my postings lately. However, I am afraid I have another question for the experts & experienced Vaio users using Windows XP, maybe I will have more luck this time.

As I have said I have a Vaio (as below) and am still running on SP1 as originally supplied. I have resisted updating my software, despite numerous prompts, to SP2 because of the bad reports I have heard and read about the effects this upgrade had on installed software and stability.

Now, despite what many of you may think about the Symantec (Norton) Anti Virus and Firewall software I have been running it for many years without any problems except I guess for a slower running computer. I am now being prompted to upgrade the Norton software but it will not load without SP2 or SP3 being installed on my Laptop - what do I do please?

Quite simply, do I 'bite the bullet' and install SP2? If so what problems/risks am I taking??

Many thanks,

Gyron

10 REPLIES 10
profile.country.GB.title
Thalamus.
Champion

Hi Gyron,

you shouldn't have a problem upgrading to SP2 but I would give SP3 a miss for the moment..

If after installing SP2 you find you have a problem then you can always roll back to SP1 again use the following link for details: How to remove Windows XP Service Pack 2 from your computer

profile.country.GB.title
Blencogo
Expert

Hi Gyron.

I have been running SP3 on two computers without any problems at all since it was first released.

However, I have heard of people with problems with the SP3 update so as Thalamus says, It is probably wise to give it a miss. These Service Packs are mainly made up of previously released updates and save considerable time if you ever have to reinstall your system and are a useful guarantee that you have all patches installed.